$500/night for an Amtrac sleeper car, can that be right?

Redmic

Can't fold fitted sheets
We always fly to Orlando, but want to take my brother and sister-in-law next year and they are chickens. I pulled up the Amtrac website and plugged in 2 adults, 2 children, AAA rate for a sleeper car (NY to Orlando) and the rate was $500 (each way) in addition to our tickets! Holy cow, am I doing something wrong? I could stay at the GF and eat at Victoria and Albert's for that!

Since this was so much higher than flying I can't imagine why anyone would want to do it. Since I am not familliar with Amtrac, I wondered if anyone with more experience could tell me if this was a typical price. Are there ever sales that would bring that down? Thanks for any comments.

I am no train expert but I have travelled Amtrak and I have looked into the autotrain. (I am a big chicken when it comes to airplanes). It is my understanding that you pay for your ticket and then pay a premium for the sleeper car. When I was looking last year it was $480 for a family bedroom. I was also shocked at the price. There are very few sleeper cars on each train so I don't think they offer discounts.

Re: Amtrak