ABD Rhine vs Danube River cruise for summer 2018

frozenmania

Earning My Ears
I am new to ABD and looking for advice. We are two famous traveling together with four adults and four kids (ages 7-11 next year) and interested in ABD rivercruise in 2018. We have done Alaska ABD this year and our kids loved it. We have done many Europe trips through Disney cruise and our kids travel very well.

We are having tough time deciding between Danube vs Rhine cruise. It looks like Rhine has many age restrictions on their excursions. Anyone with any advice? Greatly appreciate all your help.

I haven't taken the Rhine cruise, so I can't compare the two. But the Danube cruise was *fabulous*!! And there wasn't the issues with the excursions that they seem to be having with the Rhine cruises. I really loved the mix of activities and choices they had. Budapest was an amazing surprise, and I totally need to return there now. All the kids on our cruise seemed to be enjoying themselves...

Sayhello

Ditto on the Danube cruise. My son was 11 and loved it. We did it in 2016 and they were totally flexible on the excursions and I don't believe there were any age minimums. There were 6 year olds on our cruise and I remember them on several tours with us. I'd highly recommend the Danube but I don't think you can go wrong with either!

I've done both Danube and Rhine, neither with ABD, but the ports are basically the same for all of the companies. Both cruises were great, but I'd give the edge to the Danube. Vienna is one of my favorite cities ever and Budapest is pretty awesome too. :) But I loved Amsterdam too. And all of the smaller towns on both cruises were lovely. I agree you can't go wrong with either.

We're doing the Danube next summer in June (the 17th?), our kids will be 7 & 9. Of course we haven't told them yet, but we are getting so excited!

Thank you so much!