[B]Add On Use Year[/B]

Mr. Disney 652

AK Opening Crew 1998 - Now DVC!
I want to add on points to our normal Aug use year. If I do that, say, today, do I get points for the current year, or do they only kick in next use year?

Any help would be great...
Thanks

I am not an expert, but I am pretty sure you would get the 2005 points which would expire 7/31 and get the new point allocation on 8/1. I also think that since you would be purchasing from Disney, they would also make a banking exception so that the 2005 points could be banked with no problems.

Add-on purchases will include points in the current Use Year. In the case of an August Use Year, current points will be valid thru July 31. DVC usually allows you to bank these points, even if past the normal banking deadline. I'd verify that with your guide, especially if your closing wouldn't occur until after August 1.

IMO, it's better to ask before proceeding and not be surprised (or disappointed) after the fact.

Enjoy the process! :)

Thanks to you both...

Do you know how long the process takes if we begin today...I thought pretty quickly?????

If you call today, and the points are available for your use year, AND you give them your credit card number to charge the deposit on, it should happen almost immediately. I bought 200 points last Friday and was able to book with them on Monday - and that was with starting a new membership. It may go even more quickly since you already have a membership #.

This is all supposing that you are adding on through Disney, not resale.

WebmasterDoc said:
DVC usually allows you to bank these points, even if past the normal banking deadline. I'd verify that with your guide, especially if your closing wouldn't occur until after August 1.

IMO, it's better to ask before proceeding and not be surprised (or disappointed) after the fact.