Birthday, Bestie, and Boos(ze)!.....aka Turning 40 in the World of Mouse- an October 2018 PTR

richkaryn

I work to pay for my Disney addiction.
Intro:
I am Karyn (richkaryn) and I am the birthday in the report title. My birthday is in October and always falls around the week of our school district's (I'm a teacher) Fall Break. This year I will be turning 40, and I turned 38 at WDW, and since 40 is way bigger than 38, and you can't top a WDW b-day bash in my opinion, I just had to say hello to 40 in the same fashion. I have often intended to write a trip report (especially for our Alaskan cruise pictured below) but it always seems to slip through the cracks. I have been planning this trip for so long and seems like even though I've been to WDW several times (and am now even a TA) I seem to look for things to plan toward my trip every day still, so I figured this would help me satisfy that need this time around, and give me my trip-related fix in the mean time.

Joining me on this trip will be my DH, Justin, and (if I don't ban him for his attitude beforehand) our DS, who is 10. (DH was on the fence until a month or so ago when he txt me from work and said "I put in vacation for October 8-12 and was approved." Ok, so that's a "yes". )

IMG_6122.jpg
Joining us on this trip will be my sister, my niece (5), and my dad. My sister has been to MK for 1 day in her late 20s ( I went for the first time when I was 26). My niece has never been, and neither has my dad. They will be staying at a different resort than us, a value resort (My sister is a single mom, gets no child support from the dad --he is a great "escape artist" and manages to move from state to state and stay under the radar.) I suggested (before my dad was brought in on trip) that we might add my sister and niece to our reservation to save them some $, but DH quickly reminded me that I was almost ready to strangle her in her sleep after a weekend trip last year, so that was quickly dismissed.