Dining budget oop family of 5

taraaplin

Mouseketeer
I’m not a newbie, but I’m stressing! We are a family of 5. I have 1350 in Disney gift cards purchased for food. I am wondering if I need more? We are Four Disney adults and on child. I’ve meticulously looked at menus and calculators. We are doing mostly counter service and will eat most suppers at the resort (POR) quick service. The only two table service we are doing are Sci Fi and The Plaza. My DH will not get soft drinks etc only cups of ice water (me too with the occasionally soft drink). Kids will get pop. Each person will get one snack a day. And each will get a refillable mug. Do you think our budget is enough. Also we will only be doing two meals. Breakfast will always be in room with stuff we bring (cereal, pop tart, bagel etc). Ugh. I’m stressing.

Last times we only spent 8-900 but that was 3 years ago and my middle was a Disney kid and my youngest ate off my plate so we rarely had to buy a meal for him lol.

Have you put a spreadsheet together? Best way to crunch the numbers is in a spreadsheet

Day by day, meal by meal. Right now you have about $40 a person per day I would add about $10 per day per person unless your spreadsheet breaks out differently

With $192/day, I’d be adding a Via Napoli TS or 2 ;)
Even my hungry group of 5 is quite happy getting a half-meter Margarita Metro Mezzo and a Large Picante (sausage) ($72 total + drinks, tax and tip) ... our Via Napoli bill was a few $ less than sharing 4 burgers at the Plaza.

Also on the value side... get the refillable popcorn bucket (as long as you don’t mind carrying it in the park) ;)

I could almost see the budget being close to working, but personally I’d feel overly compelled to choose creatively cheap things until I was sure the budget had enough room.

Last edited:
Have you put a spreadsheet together? Best way to crunch the numbers is in a spreadsheet