Discovery Cove: cabana and dolphin swim questions

jaceraden

Ringleader to 3 kids in a Disney loving family
I'm new to Discovery Cove so I have a few questions. Yes, I looked through the stickied thread and I've gone to the DC website, watched videos, etc.

Have you rented a Cabana? What's your impression on that - would you do it again? Pros, cons.

Did you do the dophin swim or not? Any regrets either way? Or tips?

Any general DC tips you want to share?

Thanks in advance!

We have been to Discovery Cove now six (maybe 7? :scratchin) times. Half the time with a cabana, half the time without. Half the time doing the dolphin swim, half the time not.

Cabanas are a wonderful splurge but absolutely not a necessity (and you won't miss one if you don't have one.....seating and shade are both plentiful, and you spend so much time "doing" that you likely won't be in the cabana much anyway). That said, they're a nice meeting point if you have a group .... like two couples or older teens .... and a nice private spot if you have a baby that needs to snooze at some point during the day.

I always say the dolphin swim is a must-do on a first visit. Definitely have the experience once. Picking between the cabana or the dolphin swim would be a no brainer for me: dolphin swim for sure! (and the photo package too, if you can swing it....the pictures are the best souvenir EVER)

Tips: if you want to take advantage of the all-you-care-to-enjoy alcohol, plan to Uber there and back.

If you are doing the dolphin swim, arrive early (7:15 am if possible). That will get you one of the earlier dolphin swims. Afternoon Florida rain showers can often crop up and foul up afternoon swim times.

Visit the aviary as early as possible. The birds will be hungrier and more willing to eat from your hand.

The Grand Reef will be clearer earlier in the morning, before all the snorkelers stir up the sandy bottom. Be prepared, though.....the water is pretty chilly.