Disney in 1-2 days...Can it be done? Help!

missnita

Earning My Ears
My friend & her family travel to Florida every April & this year they invited us along, free room & board at their rented house in Kissimmee - along with terrific seat sales, we couldn't pass it up!

Our main reason for going is to take our boys, 7 & 9, on their first flight & vacation, but of course we need to do Disney! Don't hate us, but we're not a traditional Disney family...yes, we've seen the classics & some of the newer films, but it's just not something we've been super into. However, we are a big Star Wars family & while we intend to come back in a few years for the new themed land, we're excited about Star Tours & just experiencing Disney in general.

We're thinking of getting the 2-day park hopper ticket & doing Magic Kingdom & Epcot on day 1 & Hollywood Studios & Animal Kingdom on day 2.

I'm feeling REALLY overwhelmed with all of the available info...& even just what to DO there. We're total newbies to the Disney scene & know nothing when it comes to planning a theme park vacation! I know lines for rides are insanely long & my kids aren't really ride people...they like interactive stuff, animals, science, but would def. get a HUGE kick out of seeing Disney characters.

Any suggestions on EVERYTHING. How to navigate the parks to get the most out of them, where to eat, is 2 days even feasible? Just any useful information based on the info I've given I'd be so appreciate of!