Disneyland Newbie-Can you help?

SamIAm21

Mickey's #1 Fan
I am a Disneyland newbie and I am hoping I can get some solid opinions on what are some good motels there on Harbor Drive. I have looked on Yahoo, Hotels.com and most hotels look fine, but I'm not sure. You read so much good and bad you get confused. I am interested in Best Western Anaheim, Candy Cane Resort, and the HO-JO.

I wouldn't bother with these at all except the days I want to go are the same week as the POTC Premier at DL. June 21-24 and the Disney hotels are quite pricey. I was hoping to stay at Paradise Pier, but it's pretty high that week.

This would be a surprise birthday trip for my daughter who is 5. princess:

Thanks very much in advance!!

Have you had a chance to read the "sticky" thread by Mary Jo, on the good neighbor hotels?

The best one IMHO is Best Western Park Place Inn. It is very close and very well managed. Have also read about a lot of people staying @ Candy Cane.

Be aware that any other Best Western is on the "back side" of the resort, not on the Harbor Blvd. side. Make sure you check maps :thumbsup2

Of course not because I never look before I leap, DOH!! Thanks for pointing that out! I love the photo map too! Thanks Judy.

My mom always said, if it had teeth, it would have bit ya! :rotfl:

We stayed at the HoJo last year. We LOVED it. The ONLY downside was the walk back to the hotel at the end of the day. I'm pretty out of shape and I could handle it. However, it was torture passing all of the 'closer' hotels on the way back to ours.

Also, if you get a park view room, you can stand on your private balcony and watch the fireworks in the park. Our room was directly across from the Matterhorn and we had a fantastic view.