Experts say face masks can help slow COVID-19, despite previous claims

I think for the most part they always knew, but due to the very limited resources; they didn't feel the risk to all outweighed the risk to those who had higher risks not having them, so they only recommended for those being exposed etc.

I’m no expert but I always felt that covering your face in someway had to be helpful. I was thinking at the time that they didn’t want people hoarding masks so they said they didn’t work. Since then I’ve come to understand some of the differences in masks. I’m still not wearing one. Just stating home at the moment.

I have read about 5 articles about this and the advice very close to the same. They were not lying to us before - they just did not realize how easily this spreads when people remain asymptomatic. IMO, they should have changed this advice weeks ago but chose not to do so to avoid PPE stock from being bought up by individuals since it is needed far more by healthcare workers, but that is just a guess.

Previous advice - masks will not help you avoid catching the virus out in public spaces, especially of you were practicing social distancing. But they added that people who had the virus should wear a mask to avoid spreading it to others.

The current advice - masks will not help you avoid catching the virus out in public spaces, especially of you were practicing social distancing. People who have the virus should wear a mask to avoid spreading it to others. But, and this is why the advice is changing, since any of us could have the virus and not know it, we should all be wearing masks.