How easy is it to coordinate split stays while renting points?

singastory

There's a great big beautiful tomorrow
I am new to DVC and to renting points!! Please help!

My trip is 9 nights and the 11 month window is coming up soon. I am looking to rent points , but am having difficulty deciding where. Once I think I've made my decision, I start thinking about what I'll be missing at the other location.

My specific questions are:

- How fast do rooms fill up for late January? Is it imperative that I make a request EXACTLY at the 11 month mark, or do they still have availability a week or so after the 11 month date for that time of year?

- For anyone that has used a broker or a website to rent points, would it be possible to arrange a split stay or is that too much of a technical nightmare? I'm don't know that I'm comfortable going directly through an owner the first time, even though it would be a better price.

- Should I just pipe down and make a commitment to stay at one resort the entire time? Convince me of one over the other! :thumbsup2

Sounds like an ideal scenario for a split stay, and it really shouldn't be any kind of problem...just tell David (or the broker of your choice) that you want two reservations.Then, when you have the owner add Magical Express (if you do), just request the arrival for the first resort w/one owner and the departure from the other resort w/the other owner (the broker really should have no problem doing this).

If you want the dining plan for either of the two stays, it should be similarly easy...

Really, I think the key is to think of it as back-to-back but separate reservations...

There are never any guarantees, of course...so if you can decide by the time the 11-month window opens that's best...but chances are good at that time for both resorts well into the 11-to-7 month time frame...

Have a great time!