How much cheaper could I have made it?

Emmafleur

Mouseketeer
Ive been planning a WDW holiday for over a year and finally have all the costs added up (5 adults). We had a budget and have come out only £30 over that, so I’m really happy. However, I’m a bit sad because I’d love to do Disney more often but we can’t afford this price very often. So, can anyone please give me some tips on how to save money on a WDW holiday so we can go more often? Here’s what we’ve done this year:

Gatwick airport hotel
Gatwick airport parking
Return flights to Orlando (BA direct)
Visas
Hire car for 14 days
14 nights at Old Key West
Disney Dining Plan
Memory Maker
14 days tickets to Disney
$200 gift card
One night at Royal Pacific in Universal
14 days tickets to Universal parks and Volcano Bay
Tickets to SeaWorld, Busch Gardens and Aquatica
= £2730.64 pp

Thank you. Oh, we have to go in the Summer holidays as I work in a school.

You could have booked a value or moderate resort with no dining plan. The dining plan rarely saves you money unless you are a family of 4 'Disney adults' (over 9s). By not booking a package, you wouldn't be paying for accommodation at 2 places at once. That can't be economical.

SeaWorld, Busch Gardens and Aquatica, to me, are not parks we do every trip. But if you are planning to spend a day at each, then you could have easily got away with buying MYW non-hoppers for a shorter number of days for Disney, and limited day tickets for Universal and Volcano Bay, which would have saved you money too. Essentially, you are going for 14 nights and you have tickets for 31 days. And, I don't know about you, but we rarely go into the parks every dingle day on a 2 week trip. You could have easily got away with less tickets.

We are going 19th August to 3rd September, doing a 3 night cruise and our price per person is nowhere near that. Now we are DVC members but, even so, adding accommodation into the mix wouldn't make it near that price either.