How to shoot fireworks

I am looking for recommendations for settings for my Canon S3IS for shooting fireworks at WDW without the use of a tripod.... in other words.... hand held shooting.

All suggestions GREATLY appreciated...

---Paul in Southern NJ

It can be done if you *try* to hold extremely still, but you probably won't get that "crispness" that makes fireworks shots so beautiful unless the camera stays absolutely still. I had the same camera and I carried a small, $10 tripod and placed it on a trash can or railing using the two second shutter release delay. Fairly simple with decent results. You can also use the fireworks setting to simplify.

I am looking for recommendations for settings for my Canon S3IS for shooting fireworks at WDW without the use of a tripod.... in other words.... hand held shooting.

---Paul in Southern NJ

I'm no expert but I would reccomend to just enjoy them with your family at that point.

DW and I had tried for years and never had any decent success before we used the tripod... she would keep trying to take pics and miss most of the show with nothing to show for it but blurry pics. Meanwhile I would be holding the kids and oohing an ahhing to the beauty of it all.

I will never ever forget the sound of my daughter singing "when you wish upon a star" to wishes... just remembering makes me fuzzy all over! But now we are the opposite, I fuss over the camera and tripod and she gets the memories...

I'm no expert but I would reccomend to just enjoy them with your family at that point.

DW and I had tried for years and never had any decent success before we used the tripod... she would keep trying to take pics and miss most of the show with nothing to show for it but blurry pics. Meanwhile I would be holding the kids and oohing an ahhing to the beauty of it all.