Is it possible to bank too soon?

Livelovedance

DIS Veteran
I'm new to DVC and still figuring everything out little by little!

I have a September UY, and it says I can bank up to 100% of my points now through April 2019. I know it's important to bank before the deadline so you don't lose points, but is there any reason why I shouldn't bank now?

If you bank now and then have an unexpected trip fall in your lap for the 2018 UY it can be disappointing. Because the banked points can’t be brought back.

But if such a trip became a reality, you could always borrow the “natural” 2019 points to be used in the 2018 UY.

If you bank now and then have an unexpected trip fall in your lap for the 2018 UY it can be disappointing. Because the banked points can’t be brought back.

But if such a trip became a reality, you could always borrow the “natural” 2019 points to be used in the 2018 UY.

I always bank at the last min, just for that reason.

Yes, if a trip is suddenly "needed", you can borrow the 2019 points, but you still then have the 2018 banks points that have to use by the end of your 2019 use year.

The last few years we've taken several trips , so using points were no issue. We even had to borrow. But right now we have no plans over the next year or so. I'm glad to have points that I can pushed two years down the road.

Of course it is possible to bank too soon. Any points you bank now won’t be available until next year. If you suddenly decide to take a trip this year, you will have to Borrow points from next year. That gives you flexibility, but borrowed points and banked points are not the same.

If you change your mind and end up cancelling the reservation:

Borrowed points that are unused, will expire at the end of this use year. And there is nothing more you can do with them, if you can’t use them.