Need advice...lots of dining out coming up

bangzoom6877

DIS Veteran
My WDW trip is in July. We leave on July 18th to drive down from NYC. we arrive at WDW on July 20th for 10 nights, then the drive back up which includes 3 nights in Washington, DC. I'm a lifetime member of weight watchers for close to 7 years (40+ pounds lost) and I have stayed in my healthy weight range for my height the whole time. I also exercise regularly, both cardio and weight training. I try to eat as healthy as possible on a daily basis, including lots of fresh fruits and veggies every day, whole grains the vast majority of the time, lean proteins, healthy fats like olives, avocado, olive oil, and fat-free dairy or unsweetened almond milk. Right now I'm trying to avoid added sugar as much as possible, and to limit artificial sweeteners a lot as well. I've been using stevia in my coffee instead of Splenda for several months.

My challenge is, there are a lot of celebrations and dining out coming up. My birthday is next weekend but I am able to control things more, since we're going to two places (yes two) I have been to many times and love, and my favorite dishes there are lower calorie and I do well when I eat at those places.

We usually dine out once a week, but at places I've been to and know I can still have healthy choices and do well. However, in a few weeks I will be a little out of my usual comfort zone. Here are my challenges:

1. End-term party for work (at a catering hall, lots of food there...alcohol won't be a problem since I will be driving so no drinks for me)
2. My niece's graduation dinner is the day after my end-term party...a 4-course dinner at an Italian restaurant, which includes pasta, salad, entree and cake.
3. For her birthday gift, my niece wants to do a shopping day and have lunch out, just the two of us. This takes place 3 days after the graduation dinner for her younger sister. She wants to go to IHOP for lunch.