New to buying DVC

DanCio

Earning My Ears
So, I’m thinking about purchasing a DVC membership. I’m just starting research. Obviously, I am coming up with more and more questions. So, here they go. I’m in between buying Direct and buying Resale. I have not yet had a tour of the properties but have spoken to two DVC reps and got the printed info in the mail.

I’m 61, divorced, no kids. I used to go to Disney a lot, 3 to 4 times a year for several nights. I had some things that took my time away for a few years and now I have the time back. I live about a two hour drive from Disneyworld, south of Tampa Bay.

Since I’m a Florida resident I get annual passes with great pricing. I avoid Christmas, New Years, Easter and summer. I was once in Epcot on New Years Eve and was one of 250,000 people at Disney that night. It took us 2 hours to get back to our hotel. Never again. And besides there is more than enough to do outside the parks. I usually go to F&W and F&G. I can save $130 a year over the Gold AP (no DVC discount) by going with the Silver AP.

Ideally I want points at BWV. My 2nd choice would be BCV or OKW. It may sound morbid, but by the year it expires I’ll be dead. So the year it expires isn’t all that important to me. Who I leave it to in my will, will sell it if I don’t sell it beforehand. I tend to go to Epcot more than any other park, Magic Kingdom next, Hollywood Studios next and Animal Kingdom last.

I’m looking at getting somewhere between 80 and 170 points. I haven’t heard from Disney yet about how much it would cost direct. Resale is costing between $17K for 130 points to $21K for 170 points. Compare to Copper Creek today its $27K for 170 points. There are considerable savings out there.