Photography Lessons

Luvscrappin

Mouseketeer
So I am thinking I would like to take some photography lessons to improve my skills. What should I look for when choosing an instructor/ class? I am definitely an amateur but I love taking photos and now even more so that I am a new grandma and looking forward to taking my grand daughter to WDW. So did you all take lessons or are you self taught? thanks!

As far as shooting, self-taught wil work well for you. Back in the day, I did take a community college class so I could delve into darkroom work (chemicals, enlargers, the whole schmeer). But there are an amazing number of decent books that will teach you what you need to know. I personally would recommend one of the Naitonal Geographic books (the "Field Guide" series for example).

However, I will admit that journey is a little one-sided and can take longer. Working with a group, especially when doing class critiques, can expose you to other viewpoints that will help you season your "eye" - the way you think when you view and compose your work through a viewfinder. Look for college extension classes and local community center learning opportunities for inexpensive ways to do this.

Don't worry too much about post-processing. Even in the digital world, if you shoot it right, a lot of th computer "fixing" won't be necessary. And, if you go the class route, there'll be a chunk of discussion about it anyway.

A very good first step would be to read "Understanding Exposure" by Bryan Peterson. Then I would start looking for a good tutorial series on YouTube.

I took a class 1,000 years ago (pre-digital) and I have forgotten most of what was taught regarding lighting, etc. but the one thing that stuck with me was take a lot of pictures. Based on the law of averages you'll get some good ones.

I am that annoying person at the party who needs to take another one (or three) in case the first one didn't come out.