Priceline question?

jdm

DIS Veteran
I am considering using Priceline for our trip in Feb. (I know a long time away... but I'm in the re-search mode!) I've never used Priceline before. Did I read somewhere that you are only guaranteed one bed? Does this mean that If it is a family of four you run the risk of the kids not getting a bed? It doesn't seem realistic to bid on two rooms for 4 people (if two are children). Any info would be appreciated. Thanks, Jenn

In family oriented Orlando you aren't likely to have a problem requesting a room with 2 beds after you win a bid, and I personally would feel comfortable bidding on one room for a family of 4, BUT remember that the hotel is only obligated to provide you with one bed. As long as you go into it with that perspective, you won't be disappointed. If worse came to worst and the hotel didn't provide you with 2 beds, you could get a roll away or take 2 sleeping bags. I doubt that you'd have a problem, but you are agreeing to one bed when you bid. I've seen people on these boards get very upset with Priceline when that's exactly what they got. IMHO that really isn't fair to Priceline. :)

Since you don't know, in advance, what hotel you're getting there is no way to call the hotel in advance. Although most hotels, in Orlando, will accomodate you someone recently posted that the Hilton (4*) would only give them a king bed room.
You should be ok for 3 or 4 in Orlando, but you really have no recourse if there's a problem.

We recently had this problem come up for us. We stayed at the Wyndham and were given one king bed. I phoned the hotel to see if I could request two doubles. We weren't able to get two beds, but I was reassured that there was a pullout couch in the room. By the way, the king bed was so big - we all could have fit in it if we had to. Thank goodness for the couch!!!