RAW file format

You could continue editing RAW images in Elements. Before you spend money on a new piece of software try it as a trial download.

I use Capture NX2. I've tried Lightroom and Aperture, but the problem I've found is that you need to get add on's or something like that if you change any in-camera stuff, ie: change saturation, sharpening etc. Lightroom will not take your in camera changes without finding and then adding the add on's. Others have said, its not a big deal to add them, but I couldn't figure it out and didn't want to spend a lot of time trying to figure it out. Capture NX2 is made specifically for NEF's and anything you do in camera. Works like a charm. I've been using it for a few years now (started with Capture NX).

Howdy --

In the interest of more post-production processing, I'm considering shooting my next WDW trip (leaving tomorrow!) in RAW. However, the "Field Guide" to that model reads: "Nikon cameras seem to use more power when saving files in RAW mode. If you...take a lot of pictures on a single charge, consider using JPEG Fine instead of RAW or RAW+JPEG."

Any actual experience in this department? I do carry a spare battery with me each day, but if I drain both of them the first day then I'll never "catch up" in the re-charging process. I'd also love to hear comments about the difference in how quickly you fill a 2GB card in RAW vs. JPEG fine. (Yes, I can buy more cards if I need to, and I personally prefer to use more smaller GB cards than fewer cards holding more images -- to me, that's more to lose if something goes wrong.)

I'd like to be able to play around with Photoshop+Color Efex after getting back from the trip.

Thanks for your thoughts/experiences.