Research on Disney and the effect of Nostalgia

Did nostalgia play a part in you deciding to watch the recent production of the Lion King ('19)?

• Yes

Votes: 10 62.5%
  • No

Votes: 7 43.8%

• Total voters

Cormac0569

Earning My Ears
Hi everyone,

I am currently doing a Masters's Degree at the London College of Music and for my dissertation, I am doing a case study on Disney's 'The Lion King' and the theory surrounding nostalgia. I have a survey that I would like people to fill in but as I am not allowed to post links here I will settle with a single poll.

Did nostalgia play a part in you deciding to watch the most recent production of the Lion King (2019)?

I have been a Disney fan for as long as I remember and it is an absolute privilege to be able to conduct research on a topic I am so passionate about.

Thanks in advance to anyone willing to fill it out!

Kind Regards,

Cormac0569

Last edited:
Hey there, I'm a Ph.D. student, and I appreciate the difficulty there is in collecting data for a research project. I've responded to your survey, and I encourage those who don't have experience in research to do the same. Believe me... it's difficult.

To further my response, I'll tell you that I did not watch the last iteration of the Lion King. I don't believe in rebooting movies that were already perfectly fine, so, I guess, yes, nostalgia played a role in my decision.

On another note, I have you considered sending out a Qualtrics survey to all of the students in your university?

EDIT: I wish that I could do a research project on Disney; alas, my Ph.D. quest is nowhere near that area! Although, as both of us are academics, it is not uncommon to find and "angle" to research anything and apply it to your discipline :) And no, I'm not talking about P-hacking! (Anyone not in the know, this refers to manipulating data so as to support your hypothesis... academic journals are not, though should be, big on publishing articles that report null findings).

Last edited: