Ride Access & Shoulder Issues

MUtiger98

Mouseketeer
I will be 5 weeks post rotator cuff surgery at the time of my trip. My doctor has given me the go ahead (with the exception of throwing my arms in the air--he's such a comedian) as long as I keep the sling on in the parks and don't put body weight on it. I was looking for pics of the ride vehicles (which I thought were on here at one time) so I can get an idea of steps up or down, etc. No plans for RnRC, Everest, etc., but would love to be able to do FoP, Star Wars rides, Toy Story land rides, 7DMT, etc. Also any tips or suggestions are appreciated.

SW Attractions:
  • Rise of the Resistance: From reviews, you should be okay with bracing with one arm, but I have not experienced this one yet.
  • Smuggler's Run: I found that even as an engineer, I was bracing with one hand and using the other to push the buttons. I think as long as you are not the pilot, you might be able to figure out how to do this one. The roughness of the ride is based on the pilots of the attraction. I had a very rough ride as the pilot was a father/son pair. The son was barely tall enough to ride and understand how to move the levers.
  • Star Tours: You might be able to brace with one arm. You might want to ask for the first row as if you can reach the floor then you might be able to use your legs to brace. I find that as the rows go back, my feet get farther from the ground.
Toy Story Land:
  • Toy Story Mania: Aiming and shooting may be difficult. It does whip about between screens, but I can usually handle without bracing.
  • Slinky Dog: I think you should be okay with this one. I did not find it too rough of a ride. You will just have to figure out where the best place to sit with your sling will be.
  • Alien Swirling Saucers: This is basically a whip type ride so you need to make sure you can brace without someone else slamming into you or you slamming into the sides.