SCAL help needed

mycutiepatooties

DIS Veteran
I'm fairly new with my SCAL software. I'm trying to cut a SVG file that I imported. It's the 3 ghosts for haunted mansion for the Disneyland swap. I have a cartridge in my cricut, it's ON, the cable is connected to my computer...when I click "cut" it goes through all the normal questions and then it says "cutting complete" but it hasn't done anything. What's up with that? Any ideas for me to try?

Okay, So I was just clicking random things and it will cut if I click on "Break Apart". I'm not sure what this feature does. I've only cut out titles that I type in and never an imported SVG file so far. Can anyone explain what break apart does?

A few cuts aren't being made on the ghosts either. They are critical ones that give the ghosts more detail (faces etc.). Is there something else I need to do?

The break apart is used when you have one image that has many parts you want a different color. It will take the one image and turn into the smaller pieces that make up the sum. You can then move those pieces around on the "mat" so you can put the different colored paper on the real mat in those areas. Kinda like a quilt.

I'm not sure why some will cut and some won't. That seems really strange. The only image I've cut is the Mike from Monster's Inc. And he was already in pieces for me.

Can you email me the file and I'll see what I can do here with it? I won't use it for anything, so it won't be giving a paid for file out for free. I will delete it after I try to help you.

I need to run out shopping right now. Be back shortly if you still need help.

If you want, send it to me if AWM can't figure it out, and I'll break it apart in Photoshop for you.

It is currently cutting okay on my machine.

Did you turn on your cricut before or after you plugged in the usb cable?

Oo, it's not just a clipart picture turned into an SVG in Inkscape. Okay!

I should go look at those instead of making my own every time..