Taking off wallpaper on completely unfinished drywall ?

riu girl

DIS Veteran
We moved into our house 18 years ago not knowing that the original owners had wallpapered almost the entire house not to completed walls, but to simply unfinished drywall.

We would like to start taking down the wallpaper (it is UGLY to say the least and I have been staring at it for almost 2 decades). When we used regular wallpaper remover when we tried to take strips/pieces of wallpaper off we are also getting chunks of drywall with it.

Any advice on how to take off the wallpaper would be great since I am so sick of looking at it (entrance, living room, dining room, bedrooms, bathroom) YUCK!!! It has to go.

What I would love to do is to simply hire a contractor to come in while I am away on vacation and have him remove it, finish the drywall and then paint the entire house, but I think that this would be terribly expensive. Instead I think we will tackle it ourselves room by room over the next couple years.

ick!
You could try hot hot water on a rag. soak the paper and carefully peel it off.
After 18 yrs.. not seeing it come off easy..

Ps love your name..

Riu.. the palace....:lovestruc

After struggling with removing wallpaper, someone told me that using fabric softner in a spray bottle works wonders....haven't tried it myself yet, but worth a go....

We are doing the same right now. We have no problem getting the first layer off then we use a spray bottle with wamr water and spray the backing. After a few minutes there is no trouble.Our bedroom wallpaper looks in great shape for after 17 years so we might just paint over.

We bought our house in 1989 and in my infintite 22 year old wisdom we had 6rooms wallpapered. In 2005 it started coming down! We rented a machine from Home Depot not very expensive and so easy to get down. We ended up buying a texture sprayer on clearance and DH sprayed the drywall, we used Kilz and then painted over it - painted walls look great.