Teacher Discounts for Travel and Lodging on school vacation and breaks?

Michele Rogers

Tree Hugger
I am a teacher and I am becoming increasingly frustrated with the cost of traveling on school vacations and breaks to Disney. I live in MA and we have a week in Feb and a week in April. I have researched "discounts" for teachers but have found that they aren't really discounts. Some hotels give teacher "discounts" but the cost of a room is actually MORE than the cost of rack rate room or a pay ahead room.

It's hard being a teacher and only having the ability to travel during the most busiest and expensive times. We don't make a lot of money as it is.

Does anyone have any suggestions on how to find cheaper travel, if Disney gives a teacher discount, or any other hotels do?
Thanks!

I'm a nurse. I have children (grown now, but young before). I had to travel for school breaks. It was not cheap. We found we saved longer and put our trips off until we could afford them.

Check out renting DVC points. I'm also a teacher and found the discounts weren't really great but renting DVC points has been super helpful when saving money. We also try to go every other year but decided to skip this year to save even more and make it a better, longer trip next year. Good luck!

You can call Swan/Dolphin and inquire about their teacher rates.

This. Swan and Dolphin have teacher, nurse, and gov’t discounts at times.If you’re a Costco member it’s worth looking into their packages also, especially if you like to rent cars. Typically they waive the resort and parking fees at Swolphin.

Disney doesn't discount for Teachers. Unfortunately with their target being families, who have kids in school, everyone needs to go at the same times. Most teachers I know do get vacations though. I just traveled with a Teacher friend in January, she took a couple days off, it's our 2nd year to go then. Maybe try that one year

You can call Swan/Dolphin and inquire about their teacher rates.