Thinking of taking our first trip to Disney as a single mom of 4 kids

CarlsonClan

Earning My Ears
I'm thinking of pulling the trigger on a first trip to Disney with 4 kids. My kids are 5, 7, 9 and 10. I'm thinking of only going for 3 nights (I'd be taking them out of school) for this first trip and staying on site. I think I may only go to MK for this first trip so as not to overwhelm myself or my kids.

Would it seem reasonable to do two days at the resort and one day at MK or should I squeeze in another park, most likely AK? I was kind of thinking since this is my first time I could see how things go and plan for a longer trip next time.

For your kids' ages MK and AK are great choices for parks. I would encourage you to make a longer stay though. Unless you are semi local, traveling that far for only a 3 nights stay will feel too rushed. I would personally do a minimum of 5 nights, even if you are only doing AK and MK. HS and Epcot are amazing parks too, but also Disney Springs is fun to check out. Whatever you choose, have an amazing first trip!

Those are great ages to go... I agree with above, and would try to add a night or two. What time of year are you thinking of going?

I've always let my DD set the pace on our trips... I decided before our first trip, that I would not have the "we're spending thousands of dollars for an amazing, magical time we have to see & do everything!!!"... For us it was about time away just the 2 of us. It's vacation after all. For us the resort time is as much as the park time. I am a hyper planner (spreadsheets & everything)...:bitelip:... I do this just for me b/c I have to visually see if this dining is going to work with this fast pass, or this park, etc. HOWEVER, once we get there I use our pre-booked activities as a guide, but I'm not married to it. We've missed fast passes, and cancelled dining last minute because we were busy doing something else, or just wanted to chill at the pool. Give yourself permission to do that.