WWYR? (What would YOU rent?)

tessa

Earning My Ears
Ok, we leave on sunday for a long awaited trip!

I am a pro portrait photographer here in Atlanta, and haven't been to the world with my gear before....

My arsenal that I will be taking includes:

D700 body
D300 body (for backup)
24-70 2.8
105mm 2.8 Macro

I would like to rent something... but not sure if I should go wide or long. I obviously have a full frame camera, so the crop sensor issue isn't a problem.

What would you rent?

70-200 2.8
fisheye
12-24 2.8
something wider?? like a 16mm??

I just have no idea! But I plan on going out on my own with my tripod for some night shots and would like to be as creative as possible and get out of my comfort zone that is my studio.

Thanks for your help!

Hi Tessa,
Congratulations on your upcoming trip.

I will throw in my opinion here and say that I would rent the UWA lens (the wider the better). You will be surprised at how my wide angle opportunities you'll see, day and night. It will also come in handy if you plan to shoot Wishes and Illuminations from within the parks.

Just my 2 cents. Have fun and please post some shots here when you return!

I am dying to get my hands on a UWA lens to shoot in the parks. It is real easy to adjust your location most of the time so teles are not that important. I find it harder to get wide shots unless I stand way, way back, but that only adds more distraction to my shots.

The other fun option is fast prime for the dark rides.

yeah I really don't think I want to lug around a 70-200... I used to have one when I was second shooting weddings, but I sold it to help fund my D700....and my 24-70 is a beast as it is!

So.... what UWA would you all recommend?

Tokina 11-16 2.8?
14mm NikKor?
10mm?
16mm Nikkor?

I am really not too knowledgeable about UWA's.... i've never really had a need to go there before...