12 days in WDW, where we ate...part 5

Erikarate

married her prince
Recap places and players:
Me, DH, DD 8, DS 6
4 days at AKL Concierge, 8 days at BWV (1 BR unit)

Rating Scale:
10- everything perfect...food, service, atmosphere (very rare)
9- excellent, almost perfect
7-8- very good, overall great experience
5-6- mediocre, might not return
3-4- bad, not returning
1-2- should close this place down!!!

Okay. DH and I have been coming to the BoardWalk Villa since 1999 when we became DVC members. We had NEVER been to Flying Fish...though it is quite literally outside our doorstep. After hearing all the great reviews we knew we had to try it.

7/17/03 - dinner, Flying Fish Cafe
We had a 5:30 PS, but arrived at opening as we wanted to go to MK afterward for the fireworks. This was no problem as you can imagine because only a few patrons had arrived at this point.

The decor is very unique. It's a combination of an undersea adventure (i.e. patterns of fish scales in the tile floor and walls, doors etc.) and icons from Coney Island (i.e. murals of the steeplechase...for the old timers who know what that is...my father grew up in Brighton Beach and still tells the same stories about the legacy of Coney Island...also whimsical models of rides such as the parachute jump etc.). I loved it...very NYC-type artsy.

Our waiter was from Morrocco. He gave us great service, and also presented the kids with one of those water games where you have to push a btton and get the rings onto a stick...it was shaped like a fish and they got to keep them.

I started with a roasted corn bisque that had a lobster broth and truffle oil drissled on it. The predominace of the flavor came from the corn with a hint of lobster...sweet and smokey at the same time. Fantastic. DH had Chardonnay steamed mussels with green onion and red pepper...big, plump and juicy flavored to perfection. The broth made for great dipping.