A Canadian on Oahu - trip report Feb 4-20 2022!

Inga

DIS Veteran
Hi All

We are here in Oahu so thought I would drop a few updates to ya’ll as I have gotten so much back from these boards over the years!

Scene: DH and I, from Halifax NS. Spending one week Waikiki Beach, 1 week Aulani. First trip out of province since pre-Covid. Have been to Hawaii a handful of times in the past. Are DVC members

Trip dates/flight path: planned to overnight in Toronto on Fri the 5th but ice storm forced us out a day earlier- so we flew out on the last plane on Thursday, Feb 4th, night in Toronto, then Toronto - Vancouver, then Vancouver- Honolulu. We were able to change our flight with Air Canada for free only when there was a travel advisory due to weather, so it was a mad rush that day to get everything packed up and ready to go.

Covid stuff: had a rapid test in Halifax through a private company on the day of departure. I do a rapid Covid test every 72 hours for work (I work in a hospital) so this was easy peasy as I normally ram that thing up so far my nose, and their application was a gentle dusting of the nostrils! I knew it was going to be negative because I did a rapid earlier that morning and it was negative. We had to bring our passport to the test appointment so it could be added to our documentation related to the test result. Within 15 minutes I got an email and we printed off the doc and brought it with us to the airport. Because we were travelling directly from Canada, we did not have to complete any online safe travels Hawaii stuff.