Buying a new Honda Pilot, will I need a 4WD to tow?

Theta

DIS Veteran
We are buying a HOnda Pilot SUV, the towing capacity of the 2WD is 3500 and the 4WD is 4500.

We want to haul a small pop-up camper (yet to be purchased) and was wondering if I will need the 4WD or will the 2WD suit my needs.

The higher tow rating is always better!!

First of all, I'm not an expert...

That said, I'm looking at the Pilot, also. I drive a CRV to work with 200,000 miles on it and still going strong. I had a Civic before the CRV that I traded with 160,000 miles on it. I love Hondas. Take a serious look at the gross weight of the pop-up you are getting. Also take into consideration all the stuff and people that will be in the Pilot. It would be nice to have the extra towing capacity, especially if you are going to be in the mountains, and the 4 wheel drive if you live where it snows. My friend and I pulled the Aliner to WDW in September with her Subaru. It has a tow capacity of 2,500 lbs and the GVW of the trailer is 2,000 lbs. It did well enough. My next vehicle will be something like the Pilot or Odyssey with a tow capacity of at least 3,500 lbs. I want a vehicle that will fit in my garage and not cost a fortune to drive 90 miles round trip to work. Most of the pickup trucks out there now wouldn't come close to fitting in the garage (at least with the "ears" out) and I'm not a pickup truck sort of person. :)