Can You Help A Newbie for the 2025 WDW 5K....

mmbrad02

DIS Veteran
Help! Please :)

For most of you this is probably very silly sounding but...

For starters, My DD will be 14 in January 2025 and I am mid 40's (not that I feel my own age is relevant, just tossing it out there). I've always LOVED walking for exercise, but recently started really enjoying the Couch to 5K workout and improving each week with that.

My DD had track tryouts this past weekend and was cut from the team. She is devastated. I told her perhaps we could both train and make a girls trip to WDW for the 5K race in January. This would be a great motivator for us both to stay in shape and I also think as a fun mother/daughter trip.

We love WDW, but I'm a complete newbie to race weekend. First off, can teens participate (aka, any age restrictions?) Does the 5K have a super high demand (do I need to be on my computer pronto at sign up?) I've googled around some but I'm either asking my questions incorrectly or I'm just not finding what I was looking for.

If anyone has any helpful information I would truly appreciate it!

Hi Melissa!

I think that would be the perfect girls' trip, especially after a sucky thing like getting cut from a team, I have been before, and I know it's not the greatest feeling! For the 5K, all participants need to be 5 years or older on race day so your DD definitely makes the cutoff. (For extra insight, for the 10K they need to be 10 years or older if you want to look into doing more than one race or a longer distance)

As for popularity, the 5K during marathon weekend is super popular and has always been the first one to sell out for the past three years. You would definitely need to be on top of registration. For reference, the last registration sold out in 47 min, and the year prior 24 min. There is a thread that keeps track of historical sell-out times: https://www.disboards.com/threads/historical-race-weekend-sell-out-timing.3844193/