Emmigrating to Florida

snookhams

<a href="http://www.wdwinfo.com/dis-sponsor/" targ
DH has just been offered redundancy after 22 years, at the moment its not compulsory but have heard that if we refuse it now, and he is made redundant later the settlement will be less. I jokingly suggested emmigrating to Florida, and either buying 2 villas - one to live in and one to rent, or opening an English Tearoom - I am a cook, although I have no formal training just learnt from parents, grandparents and on the job training.

Any way has any one else considered this or any information on going ahead - I feel that if this is the way DH has to go then we should seize the day, or maybe regret it for a long time!

Oh dear what a decision - he is going to find out tomorrow the actual figure that they are offering and we will think again then - sorry about the rambling.................

Sorry to hear about your situation

I,ve gone into this in great depth, my business partner got his visa and flew out to run the US division of our company last week ( lucky b***er :) ).
He got his visa thru us establishing a US division of our company and building up trade thru the US division to a point where we needed our own manager there so we did an intercompany transfer, no minimun investment needed but the company in the UK and USA must prove to be profitable to the INS.

Be aware there are a lot of immigration attorneys out there queueing up to take your money, your not alone in wanting to move to the US...its BIG business and attract its fair share of sharks.

Getting a buisness visa can be done, the most common route is to buy an ongoing US business, this normally requires a minimum investment of at least $100,000. I know loads of Brits who have done this successfully. However the visa is only valid whilst the business is trading and profitable, so you can't retire on it and your children are only covered until their 21.