HELP! Universal Newbie

mep319

<font color=green>Go EAGLES! Go FLYERS!<br><font c
Okay, I'm a Disney veteran...but Universal newbie--we have never been! We have disney (again) In 10/03 on the FTP but...I am actually getting a little tired of WDW....and thought about doing something different. My DH, a disney purist, is willing to try Universal..he did put up some resistance. I'm a little nervous b/c if things go wrong it will be all my fault! My plan is this...I booked 5 nites on the welcome back at WDW when we were there in 1/03 that I never cancelled for the same week we are doing FTP. So I thought about cancelling FTP and booking the first two nights at Portifino Bay....to the questions....

I have a deluxe room on hold there for $180/nite...is that a good rate? ...Will we like Universal and will we be impressed? Hubby is going to be tough!
Which hotel & why? I really can't figure it out! I wanted HRH but there was no entertainment rate available..but I'm going to keep calling if you guys suggest it over PB.
Will DD 7 like it? I keep thinking it may be more for older kids. Please reassure me that I'm doing the right thing!! Thanks!

You should like US and IOA but keep in mind that u do not compare to Disney as its a diffrent sort of magic at universal u will find universal do some things better and u will find that disney do some things better but overall I believe Universal is worth the visit lots of thrill rides and not so thrill rides for the less brave
:jester:

I'm asking both...which resort and why? should dh be pleased w/ PB as compared to disney resorts. And how about the parks? If there enough to do for 2/3 days? and will DD7 enjoy?