• Controversial Topics
    Several months ago, I added a private sub-forum to allow members to discuss these topics without fear of infractions or banning. It's opt-in, opt-out. Corey Click Here

"I am NOT a Runner"...Training for a 1/2 Marathon

kristenrice

NOT just an ambulance driver
Hi, Everyone!:wave2:

I need to start a journal because it is time for me to get motivated. I need a public forum to post my progress so I feel accountable to someone...even strangers on the internet:grouphug:.

First, a quick backstory...

I am a 38-year-old paramedic from West Michigan, married, with 2 girls, ages 7 and 9. I have always been very active in sports (mostly softball) but I had very bad knees all through high-school. My doctor's always told me that my knees were so bad that I should never even consider distance running of more than one mile. (Something about the underside of my kneecap being very rough instead of smooth which can cause breakdown of the bones:confused3) Since I was always told, "You can't run"...I believed it.

This past August, I found the RunDisney site and I was so inspired by how much fun the events looked. Then I realized that even 5K is 3 miles...more than I was ever "allowed" to run. Well, the heck with it...I wanted to trypirate:. I set my goal and told DH that by next year, I was going to be able to run a Disney 5K:thumbsup2.

So I set out on a run...:crazy2:. I made it 1/4 mile and had to walk:sad:. I went home and found the C25K program and thought I'd give it a try. I figured, "Hey, I can walk for a minute and then run for 30 seconds...it's only 30 seconds!". As the program progressed, I continued along the same line of thought..."If I can run for 30 seconds, I can run for 60 seconds." Then, I got to the day when I had to run for 3 MINUTES! I knew it would be hard, but I did it. Every day, I'd try to run a little longer with less walking. I couldn't believe it when I got to the day that I had to run 22 minutes:faint:...but I did it!