I can't decide if i should do my first runDisney race! Help me decide!

Angeliki19

DIS Veteran
Hi! I have never done a runDisney race before but keep hearing more and more about how I have to! We have a trip planned for November (DH, DD7, DD5) that would put me there over the half marathon weekend. I didn't consider the half because I thought it would cut too much time and energy into my vacation. But now that there is a 10k I am really tempted to do it!!! I can't decide!!!

Reasons to do it:
- Always wanted to experience a runDisney race!!!!
- I know someone doing it so I would have a friend (more fun then going alone!)
- I don't need to train hard for a 10k (I run this distance regularly.) A half or full marathon would be another story!
- The timing allows me to do the race and relax a bit before heading to the parks with my family as we aren't planning an early morning that day.

Reasons NOT to do it:
- The 3 am wakeup.:faint: I'm not worried about the actual 10k tiring me out... but not getting enough sleep might! I am worried about not being able to enjoy the rest of the day I have planned with my family. There is no time for a nap, nor would I take one anyway because I am just not a napper. (Its our one and only AK day and we are planning on staying at night to see ROL)
- Getting to the expo to pick up my bib is going to be hectic as we won't be getting to our resort until 6 pm and I'll have to rush right over there. Not sure if it is worth starting the vacation off this way!

Can anyone offer any advice? I know the races are amazing, but so are my trips to Disney World and I hate to lose a minute of it.

TIA!

Last edited: