Is anyone going to Peru in 2008?

caj0901

Earning My Ears
Sorry about my first post. I'm new to this. We just booked the Peru trip for June 2008. Anyone else going?:confused:

Wife and I are going but a different date, great that Disney decided on this!

Last edited:
We're going on June 17th departure. Me, dh, ds 14 and ds 11. We're excited about going. Have you been there before? Are you concerned about altitude sickness at all?

We have not been before. Reading everything we can get our hands on. I don't know if it makes me more or less worried about altitude sickness that the hotels' websites brag about having oxygen in the rooms! We're just trying to get all of us in really good shape, so if we're winded we know it's from the altitude and not from being couch surfers.

We're just trying to get all of us in really good shape, so if we're winded we know it's from the altitude and not from being couch surfers.

LOL, one of the "plus" factors for deciding on Peru was that I need to get in better shape for all the climbing and high altitude. So, am going to start (for the second time) the Couch to 5K program on the elliptical and work on my cardio.

Last edited:
We were *this* close to signing up for the Peru trip, but opted for Costa Rica this year. I think Peru could happen in 2009 (fingers crossed).

Thanks for the tip about Anthony Bourdain and Samantha Brown. I checked the TravelChannel website. Samantha Brown will be on Jan 18th at 8:30 PM at Machu Picchu. Anthony Bourdain will be on in Peru February 7th at 1 PM and again Feb 24th at 5 PM.

Funny, I've started on the same Couch to 5K program, on a treadmill, though.:goodvibes

We are going on the June 3 trip to Peru too. Me, DH and DS, 13. We did Costa Rica last year and it was a BLAST. I do want to go back to CR some day. Two years ago we did Adventures to Italy (Rome, Tuscany, Venice).

So glad to "meet" someone else going on our trip! Especially an ABD veteran. Any words of wisdom?