Newbie...

lilmrsellis

Wishing upon a star...
I'm new to the Military Family, but just wanted to say hi to all of you. My husband has been at bootcamp for a week now. I'm not taking the separation so well. We've been together since high school (8 years) and this week is the longest we've ever been apart. He was far more prepared than I am. I've always known he intended to to join the military, but that hasn't made it any easier. Thanks for listening to my impromptu whining.

:grouphug: Welcome to the family!! I know how hard the separations can be, going through one right now. My best advice is just try and keep busy and the time will hopefully fly by and spend lots of time on the DIS Boards!! :lmao:

Just remember to be supportive of him and remain upbeat!! The worst thing you can do is bring him down---BC is hard enough!!

In your letters tell him you are proud of him and that you miss him but you know that he is doing this for your family--don't write things like I wish you could come home now or the car died and I have no way to get around etc

Being a military wife you are now part of a team of tough women--we learn quickly to be self reliant and to not whine about things and to take the reins to get done what needs to be done whether our hubbys are home or not:thumbsup2

You'll get the hang of it!! What MOS is he going into? The Corp is all about being tough as nails!(I assume Corp because you wrote bootcamp)

You'll find that the DIS has lots of military wives who can offer advice and info.

Welcome to the club!!:flower3:

welcome :)

My DH was already in the military when I met him (we married almost a year ago) and he told me from the start that I wasn't just marrying him, I was marrying the Air Force:lmao: