Periphreal Artery Disease

DISUNC

<font color=peach>I cried like a baby watching the
My Mom, has had servere foot & leg problems the past few weeks. Very cold and painful to walk on. She had been diagnosed with Periphreal Artery Disease. As of today she still needs to have some test to see if she can have the procedure where they open her leg arteries with a balloon, by going through the groin.

Has anybody here have this procedure? I am just looking to see what she should expect. Her doctor seems to saying its nothing more than "pulling a tooth" (my words not his..but that is his attitude), this will be done in his office.

Mom is now late 70's, suffers from Alzheimers and Emphysema. She is on Oxygen 24x7. Her weight is 130lbs, her Heart rate is fine and so is her Blood pressure (in fact they are text book perfect).

Any Info will be much appreaciated.:goodvibes

I have no experience with this.. but do have this to say. It scares me when doctors minimize any procedures....like having a tooth pulled..

I am not a doctor, but I did read your Mom's age and condition, why would he not do it in the hospital?? She has Alzheimers and Emphysema, oxygen 24 7.. why take chances is my thought. Also...done under general anesthesia, local?????these are important questions to ask since she is on oxygen, I would think. Again, not a doctor.. just inquisitive when it comes to medical care.