• Controversial Topics
    Several months ago, I added a private sub-forum to allow members to discuss these topics without fear of infractions or banning. It's opt-in, opt-out. Corey Click Here

Rec'd Subpoena, but on Vaca

MelanieRI

Mouseketeer
I'm so upset! I recieved a subpoena to go to court for the day I leave on our Disney vacation! You would not believe my luck! I'm a nurse, I'm working a 12 hr shift the night before. I was going to go home and sleep for a few hrs and then leave for Disney. Oh, wait...guess what....suddenly I have to go to court, too!!

I just recieved the paper yesterday. I'm freaking out. When I got divorced our state automaticaly started a bookkeeping service where they collect the child support directly out of my ex-husband's paycheck. Well, he was out on short-term diability two times and didn't pay during those time. Now, they are after him for those amounts and they have me listed on their side for the court action against him. The total of those amounts wouldn't even add up to the amount of money it would cost me to change my flights and hotel ressies.

I called the family court office and was told to call some case worker for the state. I've left message after message for the past two days trying to get ahold of this guy explaining my situation. I have heard nothing back.

So, I'm wondering if should call my divorce lawyer, also something that will probably cost me more then what my ex owes. HOW IS THIS HELPING ME??? I just want the state of RHode Island to BUTT OUT!

Ok, just needed to vent. I hope I don't have to miss my vacation!!!