Renting DVC points to friend for WDW trip. How?

chuckcorden

DVC member, Pirates of the Caribbean fan, UConn fa
A friend who knows that I am a DVC member has asked if I would be willing to rent points to him and his wife for a wedding anniversary trip to WDW. I have no problems with the idea since I have sufficient points. However, I have never done this before and I am not too sure of how to proceed.

1) The date of his trip will fall within my own trip to the World. Could this be a problem when I make reservations for his trip?

2) (actually related to 1)) When I do make reservations do I make them in my name or do I tell Customer Relations that I am renting my points to X?

3) If I am able to get by 1) and 2), how do I value the rented points? Do I base it on what a vacation would cost at the particular resort? Or do I place a dollar amount on the number of points? I'm not looking to soak him but I don't want to just "give" the points to him.

Hi, since I just made several reservations for other people I think I can answer most of your questions.
1) You should be able to make reservations for a guest (which is what your friend is called when you call Member Services) at the same time as your stay at Disney.
2) You will need following information from your 'guest' when you make a reservation, and it will be in their name:
Check-in and check-out date
Size of unit
Name of all adults/children staying in the unit
Address and phone number
Ages of children if any

3) It is easiest to charge per point, the going rate is somewhere near $11, but does vary with every member. This is more than fair since it is much less than if your friend made the same reservation. This way your friend can look at the point charts and decide himself how much he wants to spend on his reservation.