• Controversial Topics
    Several months ago, I added a private sub-forum to allow members to discuss these topics without fear of infractions or banning. It's opt-in, opt-out. Corey Click Here

Service Dog at WDW

tiberius

DIS Veteran
Does anyone here have, or know where I can find, any helpful information on going to WDW with a service dog (medical assistance type, not guide dog for the visually impaired).
Thanks!

You can go to the following official site and get information on service dogs

http://disneyworld.disney.go.com/wdw/common/Plain?id=PlainHomePage#serviceanimals

As a local resident, I get to go to the World with an assisstance dog. and Disney understands how to treat guests and thier service dogs. Many cast members will offer water or be able to direct you to proper backstage break areas. I was at DAK just yesterday and had no problems. The castmembers are also knowlegable on etiquette in relation to service animal

I guessed that an operation like Disney would be able to accomodate our family's needs, thanks a million for the information.

There are a few people who come to this Board a lot who travel with service dogs.
The ones that come to mind right away are videogal1, who travels with Cash, the Wonder Dog; and LindaDVC's husband (I don't know his name or his dog's name, but if I remember right, the dog is a black lab service dog).
Everything I have read about Service dogs at WDW has been as positive as pezter's experience.
(Hi, pezter. Welcome to the DIS Boards and disABILITIES) :wave:
Hopefully someone else with experience will see this when I bump it up.

Originally posted by SueM in MN
There are a few people who come to this Board a lot who travel with service dogs.
The ones that come to mind right away are videogal1, who travels with Cash, the Wonder Dog; and LindaDVC's husband (I don't know his name or his dog's name, but if I remember right, the dog is a black lab service dog).