x ray damage

mbtileguy

Mouseketeer
when do the xray machines at the airport damage film before you take the pics or after the shots are taken? i only use throw away cameras and heard the xray will hurt them? i have been lucky in the past but dont want to take any chances. is it true security will hand inspect if you ask? i was looking for the bags that protect them but cant find them around? i think everyone has gone digital but i am not good with eletronics. thanks

xrays will harm film anytime the film is exposed to it. As far as I know they will hand instpect your bag if you request it.

The screening of CHECKED bags is the biggest issue with film, don't put it in your checked bag exposed or unexposed, too much potential for disaster there. The screening of CARRY ON bags, a little more leeway. The xray equipment has the potential to harm any type of film, but generally anything under 800 speed film will be fine. Also, it's the cumulative amount of passes through that you want to be concerned with. Once down, once back, shouldn't be an issue.