Canon 400D (Rebel Xti, Kiss X)

Good Morning and Happy 4th of July!

I just recently returned to the DIS Boards and I am so excited to find this section.

I have only had my Rebel for about 4 or 5 months. I have the kit lens and a 55mm/f 1.8 ii and I love the pictures I am getting. I am still learning so I don't change the settings much past the presets. (I am a teacher and using some time this summer to read and learn more)

Anyway, having said all that, my son plays high school lacrosse and I find that, while the pics are great, I can't seem to get as close a zoom as I would like. Can you recommend a lens? We also *may* be going to Italy for a special vacation next year so I would also like to be able to capture the detail of architecture on the top of buidings or take pictures from a great distance.

I also have discovered from these boards that I probably need tripod and maybe a remote. Where do I get these? How do I know what to buy? I do know that I would want it to be compact for travelling.

I've been using the 55mm for taking close up pictures of my new twin nephews primarily but I have read on this board that it is good for night shots. I thought it was a "portrait lens" and as such for faces. (please don't laugh) I guess I have alot to learn.

Thanks in advance.

Is your son's lacross games always in the bright sun, or do they play night games, that will make a big difference in your needs.

I also suggest getting understanding exposure and reading it, it will help you a lot with your learning curve.

Most of his games are in the daylight bright sun. Parents are generally a good distance away.

I have that book on my list as a result of this board.

Would you recommend a course at the local community college as well?

You certainly came to the right place for information. Most of the regular posters on here know their stuff.