Your favorite $325 and under camera and why

LouisianaDisneyFan

DVC owner, Disney stockholder, & all-around fan!
Hello all,

I'm not sure how to classify myself, as I'm an avid photo-taker (as opposed to a true photographer), have been told I take great photos from an artistic perspective (frequently have friends asking for copies of my photos when we go on trips), and have actually been paid for many of my plant images. I'm not a novice photographer by any means, but I am perfectly happy with my point and shoot mentality. ;) I am always impressed by the gorgeous effects others can get with nifty adjustments, but I am simply lazy when it comes to taking photos. I want to see it, shoot it, and move on to the next "Kodak moment"...

I currently have an Olympus that has some bells and whistles that go unused (I still don't know what all of the buttons do). My daytime stills come out pretty terrific, especially when bright colors in the garden are involved. The clarity is quite good compared to many I've seen. Daytime action shots also come out well. But, my night time shots leave a LOT to be desired. I've looked at the Panasonic FZ35, but the reviews on it are confusing. Novice users rave about it, but reviewers in some of the publications have written about "noise" in the images. It's confusing!!!

So, let's pretend you are shopping for a new mom-to-be... or your teenage daughter who's about to go off to college... or your elderly aunt who is about to take the trip of a lifetime... you know, somebody who wants to capture it all beautifully but isn't going to take the time to read the manual. What would you suggest that they purchase, and why?

There are only a few specifics I would like included:
*Priced $325 or under.
*Digital.
*I like having a preview screen so I can quickly see what I just shot.
*I like having the OPTION to add additional lenses, but it's not a dealbreaker.