Anyone leave teaching? What do you do now?

tcherjen

DIS Veteran
I have been a teacher for quite some time. I put in my letter of resignation for the end of the school year this year. I am looking to do something else. My youngest is going into middle school, so it will be a good time to transition.

Good luck.

I have 14 more years until full retirement, but I am not going to make it. The earliest I can retire is in 9 years. Right now that is my goal.

DD taught for 4 years and decided to do a change.
She is now an office manager at a law firm.....loves it, other than the commute

I'm a middle school teacher in a small private school, and it's been a very rough year for the all our middle school teachers.

I was a special education teacher for 4 years. I enjoyed everything about working with students - good and bad - but the workload was unreal.

I was a substitute teacher for a couple of years after I left teaching, and now I work as a contract speech-language assistant. The flexibility and workload are just what I was looking for.

I’ve been teaching for 13 years, so I have a long way to go. I love teaching, but I've thought about leaving and doing something different so that I can be with my husband. He travels for work, and our youngest leaves for college this August. I’m going to be pretty lonely at home.
I’ve looked into teaching online, or freelance editing, but I’d be a fool to give up my pension at this point so I might be stuck.

Between retiring from the military and my current job, I also worked as a Child Protection Investigator for our county Sheriff's office. I loved the mission, but for me there was no work-life balance that I needed after 4.5 years of not living at home with my family due to military assignments. I would suggest looking into it. Some places it's with the Sheriff's office, others with DCF. I had a hard time leaving because of the mission, but I enjoy the work-life balance and flexible schedule my current job provides.