Aulani Trip Report - July 2023

EllieBride

DIS Veteran
Introduction:
Hi Disboards friends!

This is my first attempt at a trip report - I hope that it proves to be helpful for those of you in the planning stages. This was our first trip to Aulani and I loved reading the reports that others have shared as I worked on my own planning.

Our cast of characters for this trip included myself, husband, and our 10-year-old son and daughter (twins). This was their first trip to Hawaii. I visited once before, around 20 years ago, as part of a Hawaiian cruise that sailed from Vancouver. I have always wanted to return.

Our family trip came about for two main reasons. First, we are DVC members and are beginning to “age out” of WDW. Although we/I still love it, it has become very expensive! We went in May 2022 and purchased the Genie+ and virtual lines for ROTR and GOTG. Ugh. All of the extra costs were really off-putting. During this trip, we went to Discovery Cove for a day (loved it) and Universal for a day. We packed an overnight bag for our trip to Universal and stayed one night there at the Lowe’s Royal Pacific, which included the Express Pass for the parks. We LOVED having the Express Pass and that you do not need to schedule rides in advance. Highly recommend it. I thought this was so much better than messing around with the Genie+ and constantly getting my phone out.