Ideal dates for Southwest?

rella's fan

DIS Veteran
I'm very new to the ABD (I've been a Disney fan for years) and have just begun to research the Southwest trip - good timing on my part with the 2009 dates and discounts just released! It would be myself and my 6 year old and it looks great however I'm not one for major heat, I just can't tolerate it well. I have a very flexible job and I have no problems taking my daughter out of school so what would be the ideal date to book this regarding weather? Also what airports are used to and from and has anyone ever extended their trip on their own at the beginning or end? Thanks!

I'm very new to the ABD (I've been a Disney fan for years) and have just begun to research the Southwest trip - good timing on my part with the 2009 dates and discounts just released! It would be myself and my 6 year old and it looks great however I'm not one for major heat, I just can't tolerate it well. I have a very flexible job and I have no problems taking my daughter out of school so what would be the ideal date to book this regarding weather? Also what airports are used to and from and has anyone ever extended their trip on their own at the beginning or end? Thanks!
Personally, I went in early May, and I don't know that I would have wanted to do it much later in the year. It was just getting hot in Phoenix, and the temps were, for me, lovely the rest of the trip. VERY DRY, but not really hot. We wore jackets some of the time because of the combo of wind & temps. If it hadn't been windy, the jackets probably would not have been necessary, except at the Grand Canyon, where it was chilly, and actually snowed in the morning!

I imagine October would be similar. If you don't like heat, DO NOT go in July/August.

You fly into Phoenix Sky Harbor airport, and out of the Grand Junction, Colorado airport. Be aware, there is NO real food at the Grand Junction airport, I didn't get lunch until landing in Dallas at 4:30 pm.