• Controversial Topics
    Several months ago, I added a private sub-forum to allow members to discuss these topics without fear of infractions or banning. It's opt-in, opt-out. Click Here

Many decisions to make: VGF vs Riviera, direct or resale and use year.

sashinska

Earning My Ears
I am new to DVC and need some advice on purchasing. As of right now, we like to go to Disney twice a year: in Sept-Oct and Apr-May. Our thinking is to buy 150 direct points from RIV or VGF and then buy an additional resale 100 pts contract for Animal Kingdom. This way we will have 1) all the perks of the blue card 2) two home resorts and 3) two smaller contracts that as I understand are easier to sell later on. Then, the idea is to book our two yearly trips with the two contracts separately to use the 11 months advantage (one trip we stay 5 nights at AKV and another trip we stay 5 nights at RIV (or VGF). Questions I have for the DVC experts here are the following:
1) VGF or RIV?
2) Use year. As we go twice a year would it make sense to buy two different UYs? If the answer is no, which UY would be the best for our spring/fall trips?
3) Do you see any pitfalls in this strategy?
Any other comments and suggestions are welcome :).

Last edited:
It's impossible to answer without your exit strategy. Blue card isn't worth much right now, and this is a several thousand dollar discussion. If you plan on selling in a few years, like I do, I don't see why you'd buy direct at all.

I'd buy the resale first anyway, so they can match the UY when you buy direct.

It's impossible to answer without your exit strategy. Blue card isn't worth much right now, and this is a several thousand dollar discussion. If you plan on selling in a few years, like I do, I don't see why you'd buy direct at all.

I'd buy the resale first anyway, so they can match the UY when you buy direct.