Mechanics of buying DVC

Donald is #1

DIS Veteran
So, my trip to WDW is only 11 days away:banana: and I have been researching DVC for a few months. My current plan is to take a tour of DVC while I am on my trip. If I like the look of the DVC units and if I don't find myself bored by my second WDW trip in less than a year (the horror --- I can't image that happening!), then I will be buying in. My current plan is to buy direct from WDW if I decide on AKV or buy resale if I decide on a different resort.

OK, here comes my question. If I do decide to buy AKL, I believe that there is an incentive to buy within a few days of my tour of the DVC. I have the money saved so most likely I won't be financing. So, how do I actually pay for the DVC if I am not financing (i.e. I will need to transfer funds & I don't plan on having my check book with me)? Can I give a down payment with a credit card and then send a check for the balance once I get home? Or am I better off financing and then paying off the loan right away?

Thanks everyone!

Good choice to go down and look at the resorts to see which is for you.

At the time you decide to purchase with Disney, they will ask for your info if financing and a $500.00 deposit . I put my deposit on a credit card . You could put it all on a credit card if you want to , they will work it out to charge it over a period of time. That way you could get some credit card rewards / points.If not you could mail them a check after getting home.

Good luck and have fun exploring DVC !

I bought in last October. My use year was Dec. They allowed me to split the total over a two month period so that I could use my credit card (up to my credit limit). I also had the money saved up so paid my credit card off without interest. This allowed me to get 1% back. A small discount but worth it anyway. They will also accept a personal check from you.