Mel & Lee PJ - First attempt, please be kind!

mel_ntu

Earning My Ears
So I decided that if I needed help and would be asking lots of questions of you guys, the least I could do would be to introduce "us". So here goes. I don't have many of the details firmed up in my head, that is what I am hoping you guys will help is with! Might be a bit long winded so please sit back and popcorn::

US
My name is Mel and I am a chartered accountant. That basically means that I work in industry and prepare budgets, report results and plan for lots of things in a financial sense. I am lucky, I went to university and have my professional qualification, and have done well in the companies I have worked for (lots of being in the right place at the right time!!)
Lee is an engineer. He works with steel in fabrication and to be honest, thats pretty much all I know about it. With too bery diverse professions, you can probably guess that we don's spend a whole lot of time talking about work to each other :laughing:
We live in South Yorkshire in England.

The Proposal
We have been together for just over 10 years, though for 4 years of that, I lived in a different county doing my degree.
We had been talking about getting married for a couple of years, we have lived together for 5 years already and my younger sister is already married with 2 kids so the pressure was mounting a little!! :rotfl:

We had discussed it and even gone to look at rings so he knew my size and what I liked etc.

We were going away for the weekend with my family and meeting them there (we were going to Cumbria, a lovely part of the country).

Lee had said that on the way down he wanted to call and see a place called Richmond. (for those fellow brits - the sausage place!!)
I had said that I didn't want to and that I wanted to go straight to Cumbria so I could meet up with my sister and go swimming with my nephews!